Benton County

Supporting the next generation of health care providers

Benton County

Virginia Welch Scholarship

Each year the Good Samaritan Regional Medical Center Auxiliary awards the Virginia Welch Scholarship to men and women planning to pursue a career in a medically related field. The scholarship is named in honor of Virginia Welch, a head nurse who became Good Samaritan's administrator in 1951 and served until 1967. To date, more than $140,000 has been awarded to students pursuing a career in health care.


High school seniors, undergraduate and graduate students currently enrolled in, or accepted to, a program to pursue a career in a medically related field in a hospital setting are eligible to apply.

Application process

For more information, contact Good Samaritan Regional Medical Center Volunteer Services at or 541-768-5083.

Jeanne Hazleton Scholarship
For Midwifery and Doula Education

The Jeanne Hazleton Scholarship Fund was established in 2008 by Patrick Hazleton, husband of the late Jeanne Hazleton and funded by numerous contributions made by family and friends. The purpose of the Jeanne Hazleton Scholarship Fund is to honor Jeanne’s lifetime service and contribution to the community as a practicing Doula and Midwife and to encourage women to enter or continue their education in the birthing field. The scholarship program is coordinated by the Good Samaritan Hospital Foundation and is designed to help female residents of Benton, Linn and Lincoln counties begin or continue their education for Doula and/or Midwife training, certification or licensing.

For more information or to apply, download the Jeanne Hazleton Scholarship application below:

Nursing Excellence Scholarship

The Nursing Excellence Scholarship was established in 2013 in honor/memory of outstanding Registered Nurses (RN) at Good Samaritan Regional Medical Center (GSRMC). The purpose of the Sally Vomocil Nursing Excellence Scholarship is to provide scholarships to nursing students working towards an RN degree in Oregon and who show leadership and clinical expertise and excellence.

For more information or to apply, download the Nursing Excellence Scholarship application below